Reflecting Upon Who We Are through Lent

One of the activities I have with the church I’m serving is a television show called the Bread of Life.  It appears on Pittsfield Public Access Television.  I record the show in advance of its broadcast date.  I’ll record this week.

Today, I was preparing the show to air on April 15.  As it will broadcast on the Second Sunday of Easter, I chose to talk about Bright Sunday or Holy Humor Sunday.  Bright Sunday is a long-standing Church tradition beginning around the 15th Century, although there is some indication it began earlier than that, maybe the 13th Century.  The specific tradition involves jokes.  The priest would insert a funny joke or story in his homily and then draw a moral lesson from it.  People observed the day by singing, dancing, and telling jokes.  Practical jokes, usually being doused with water, were a part of it too.

The underlying theological point was that Easter is the ultimate joke on the devil.

Since I’m planning to do a Bright Sunday service on April 15 in church, I figured having a description of Bright Sunday would be a good prelude to the service (Note:  following the show we broadcast our entire worship service).  It would be a good introduction to people who are watching the service on television.

As I was doing my research I found the following, A. W. Tozer’s Rules for Self-Discovery:

  • What we want most,
  • What we think about most,
  • How we use our money,
  • What we do with our leisure time,
  • The company we enjoy,
  • Whom and what we admire,
  • What we laugh at.

As I prepared, I thought how appropriate these are for Lent, a time for self-reflection that leads to becoming better disciples.  Our answers to these questions/points will tell us a lot about who and whose we are.

 

About Quentin Chin

Eclectic interests: religion, technology, food, music, current events. I live in the reality-based world.
This entry was posted in Ministry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

